Tags

, , , , , , , ,

What’s that? Is that $20 in my pocket? Let’s go pop some tags.

When Sherry at Young House Love sent out a call for an “Unofficial Macklemore Thrift Shop Challenge” I knew it was right up my alley. The challenge is inspired by the “Thrift Shop” song by Macklemore. Here were the rules:

Step #1. Go to a thrift shop with – just as the chorus of the song says – “$20 in your pocket”and take a picture.

Step #2. Spend that $20 any way you’d like and photograph your spoils.

Step #3. Find one item (or more) referenced in the song and snap a pic.

So here we go…

Thirft Store 003

“I’m gonna pop some tags
Only got twenty dollars in my pocket”

“I’m at the Goodwill, you can find me in the (Uptons)”

Thirft Store 006

“They had a broken keyboard, I bought a broken keyboard”

Thirft Store 011

“Dressed in all pink, ‘cept my gator shoes, those are green”

Snake skin, gator shoes, same thing right?Thirft Store 013

“Passin’ up on those moccasins someone else’s been walkin’ in”

Jeff was laughing at the fact that I didn’t know how to make a “no” face so this is my best passin’ up expression.

Thirft Store 014

“The built-in onesie with the socks on that mother*”

Because every good onesie deserves a cuss word when describing it. Especially one with monkeys on the feet.

Thirft Store 015

“What you know about rockin’ a wolf on your noggin?”

This was the closest thing to a wolf we could find. Close enough right?

Thirft Store 017

“The sneaker heads would be like “Aw, he got the Velcros”

So now on to the spoils…Thirft Store 019

I found this wooden create, filled it with a few mason jars, and thought the arrangement looked pretty good. Only thing is, it doesn’t really match with the decor in our home so we passed on it. Thirft Store 022

Here’s the proof that I spent less than $20 and here is what we got. Thirft Store 024

A glass enclosed lantern, a big silver alarm clock, white pillar candles and blue glass beads.

Thirft Store 040

We have a nautical theme on our mantel so I wanted to make this lantern fit it. I started by painting it white.

thrift shop part 2 005 (2)

Ta-da! I used craft paint because that is what I had, but I would recommend using spray paint to speed things up. I wanted to show you a few different ways to make this look nautical. thrift shop part 2 007 (2) thrift shop part 2 012 (2)

First way is just to coil up some rope and put it in. This is a more rustic and casual vibe and I really liked it. This was some left over rope that I got from my dad. When I asked him for it he told me there was special history behind it so I asked him for the story.

Dad: “One day, about 15 years ago, I was driving around and found this rope in the street.” (Silence)

Mom: “So what is the history behind it?”

Dad: ” That’s it. I found it.”

Oh dad. You are never short of captivating stories. thrift shop part 2 015 (2) thrift shop part 2 021 (2)

A second way is to use the rope and wrap is around a pillar candle like the one I found at the thrift store. Doing it this way is a little more clean and structured.

thrift shop part 2 023 (2)

The last way I styled it was using only the thrift store items. I put the pillar candle in first and dumped the blue glass beads around it. This is a great way to add a pop of color. thrift shop part 2 031 (2) thrift shop part 2 033 (2)

Lantern: $4.99

Candles: $2.99 for a set of 2

Glass Beads: $1.99

So this whole project was right around $10. Not bad!

Tomorrow I will show you how I changed up the clock to match our bedroom!

Update: Check out part 2 by clicking here. 

 

