Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m starting a “Pinspiration” series on my blog where I take some of the ideas I’ve pinned and actually make them a reality. I really do use quite a few of the ideas I see on Pinterest in my everyday life, recipes probably being number one. So this week I am using this pin for Lemon-Garlic Shrimp and Grits and showing you how it turned out in my kitchen.

Lemon-Garlic Shrimp and Grits- clementinebean.wordperss.com

The recipe came from the Food Network and was listed as one of their healthy weeknight dinners. This meal came together super fast but packed tons of flavor which is perfect for a weeknight meal. I have to admit, not only have I never made grits on my own, I hadn’t even tasted grits before this meal. I really ended up liking them and would make them again!

Lemon-Garlic Shrimp and Grits- clementinebean.wordperss.com

I started by making the grits according to the package instructions, which actually matched up with the Food Networks recipe as well. Once the water was boiling I threw them in and they came together in just a few minutes.

Lemon-Garlic Shrimp and Grits- clementinebean.wordperss.com

I whisked them until thick and then added the salt, pepper, cheese and butter. If you want to follow directions, you will only throw in 1 of the 3 tablespoons of butter like the recipe says. But if you are like me, you just skim over the word butter, throw in all 3 tablespoons, and then act surprised when later in the recipe it calls for butter again and you realized you used it all. Moral of the story: don’t be like me. Or maybe the moral is to read directions… moving on…

Lemon-Garlic Shrimp and Grits- clementinebean.wordperss.com

Cover and set the grits aside and heat up some butter (remember because you didn’t use it all) in the pan and then throw in the garlic and cayenne pepper. Stir it around for just a few seconds until it’s all bubbly.

Lemon-Garlic Shrimp and Grits- clementinebean.wordperss.com

Then throw in your shrimp. I bought mine raw with tails on in the frozen aisle at Costco. I put them in a ziplock bag in the fridge to defrost them for a couple hours before starting the recipe. I cut the tails off before sautéing the shrimp just to make it easier to eat. Tails make for a prettier presentation, but who am I kidding, I’ve been married 5 years and my husband wants to eat his food, not be impressed by it.

Lemon-Garlic Shrimp and Grits- clementinebean.wordperss.com

While the shrimp is cooking, get your parsley chopped up. I love using this ulu knife my parents bought me on their cruise to Alaska. It just rocks back and forth making it super easy to chop up herbs. I also use it when I need to cut up bacon into bacon bits. Yumm… bacon…. Opps I got distracted.

When the shrimp is pretty-in-pink throw in the lemon juice and water and let it bubble for just a few seconds to get everything nice and hot. Turn off the heat and let it sit while you prepare the plates.

Lemon-Garlic Shrimp and Grits- clementinebean.wordpress.com

Put a bed of grits in the bottom of your dish and top it with a few shrimp and lots of  that delicious lemon-garlic sauce. Sprinkle the parsley right on top. Serve it with a wedge of lemon.

Lemon-Garlic Shrimp and Grits- clementinebean.wordpress.com

The creamy and cheesy grits blended so nicely with the savory shrimp and tangy lemon-garlic sauce. This one was definitely a winner!

Have you found any good Pinterest recipes you’ve just loved?

For the full recipe click here.

