Tags

, , , , ,

Remember last week when I gave you some ideas to use a rope for nautical decor? Well I wanted to show you how I ended up using the rope in my own home. I decided to turn it into a way to decorate an old vase. DIY Rope Vase: Nautical Decor- clementinebean.wordpress.com

I picked up this vase at work in a box labeled “free stuff” a few months ago. Can’t go wrong with that! I knew the color didn’t match my home decor but thought it would be the perfect thing to experiment on once I thought of something I wanted to try. I got this piece of rope from my dad. Remember, it has a really significant history behind it.  I decided I wanted to wrap the vase with the rope to fit into my nautical themed mantel. DIY Rope Vase: Nautical Decor- clementinebean.wordpress.com

I just used a hot glue gun to attach the rope to the top of the vase. I glued the rope just slightly higher than the edge of the vase to conceal any of the colored glass. For the top row, I used glue almost all the way around to make sure it would stay in place. DIY Rope Vase: Nautical Decor- clementinebean.wordpress.com

Then as I began to wrap the rope around the vase, I just put dots of hot glue every few inches. No need to put glue all the way around. Just keep wrapping the rope around until you reach the bottom of the vase. DIY Rope Vase: Nautical Decor- clementinebean.wordpress.com

I ended up adding glue to the ends of the rope at both the top and bottom to keep it from fraying. DIY Rope Vase: Nautical Decor- clementinebean.wordpress.com

I think it turned out pretty good! You could just leave it empty like this, or even fill it with some fresh white flowers or drift wood. Not bad for two totally free items. Now you’ve got a pretty little DIY nautical vase for any beach themed room.

