Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Trying Out My Husbands Hobby: Deep Sea Fishing- Clementinebean.wordpress.comTrying Out My Husbands Hobby: Deep Sea Fishing- Clementinebean.wordpress.comTrying Out My Husbands Hobby: Deep Sea Fishing- Clementinebean.wordpress.com

Last summer my husband and I went on a cruise to Alaska and one of our excursions was to go fishing. That was the first time I had been fishing on a boat and I was surprised how much I loved it. When we got home we kept an eye out for Living Social Deals for fishing near home to give it another try. We booked a half day trip out of Newport Beach and used it this weekend. The weather was a little chilly but sunny and clear which was perfect for being out on the water. Trying Out My Husbands Hobby: Deep Sea Fishing- Clementinebean.wordpress.com

We realized as we were pulling out of our slip that we were parked right next to the boat gas station we had to stop at when our boat ran out of gas on the day we got engaged. I’ll tell you all about that story in another post (it’s a doozy!) It’s always fun being back on the waters where we got engaged!Trying Out My Husbands Hobby: Deep Sea Fishing- Clementinebean.wordpress.com Trying Out My Husbands Hobby: Deep Sea Fishing- Clementinebean.wordpress.com Trying Out My Husbands Hobby: Deep Sea Fishing- Clementinebean.wordpress.com

Pulling out of the harbor there is the most gorgeous mix of beautiful houses, boats, and sea life. My favorite moment is captured in the picture above. From the ocean you can see the snow capped mountains in the distance. I love where I live!

Trying Out My Husbands Hobby: Deep Sea Fishing- Clementinebean.wordpress.com

 

This would have been perfect as just a cruise in the ocean but to top it all off, we actually caught some fish. Nothing to write home about but it was still fun none the less.

My husband loves to fish and goes out all the time. Until our trip to Alaska I was adamant about never going with him. It sounded like a long boring day, I didn’t want to touch anything slimy or that wiggles… this list goes on and on. But I am glad I finally decided to give my husband’s hobby a try. It surprised me in the best kind of way. I was surround by the most beautiful views all day long and got to spend hours hanging out with Jeff. Would I say this is my hobby now? No. But at least I’ve tried something new, something that I now know I like, and can go out with Jeff here and there when he goes fishing. Sure he will still do his boys fishing trips but now he knows hes got one more person he can enjoy his hobby with.

I want to encourage you to give your significant other’s hobby a try. Maybe you’ll love it, maybe you’ll hate it. But if nothing more you at least get to spend some time with the person you love and get to see them in their element. Which is pretty awesome I must say.

