Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hope you had a great weekend! Mine was filled with lots of family time. My nephew’s base ball game, lunch with Jeff’s parents, dinner with my extended family including my cousin and her husband who live in central California, and I got to babysit/ kidnap/ steal and never want to give back my mom’s puppy.

Continuing on with my love of Pinterest and the recipes I find on there, here was my attempt at Roman Style Chicken. This was another one of Food Network’s easy and healthy weeknight dinners. For the full recipe click here. 

Roman Chicken Recipe- Easy and Healthy weeknight dinner. Only 266 calories.

Looks like a lot of ingredients now that I look back at it, but it was pretty simple to make. Roman Chicken Recipe- Easy and Healthy weeknight dinner. Only 266 calories. Roman Chicken Recipe- Easy and Healthy weeknight dinner. Only 266 calories.

I like to get everything chopped up before I start cooking so that I just have to throw ingredients in as I go and not worry that whatever is on the stove is going to burn while I cut up a pepper. The prosciutto was much harder to cut than I thought it would be. I ended up stacking all of the slices on top of each other to give each cut some substance. The slices are so thin on their own that doing it one at a time was near impossible. Roman Chicken Recipe- Easy and Healthy weeknight dinner. Only 266 calories.

I got the chicken browned on both sides, but not cooked through in the middle.Roman Chicken Recipe- Easy and Healthy weeknight dinner. Only 266 calories.

I set the chicken aside and threw in the peppers and prosciutto. The recipe said it will take about 5 minute to get the peppers browned and the prosciutto crisp, but it took me closer to 10 minutes to do it. Roman Chicken Recipe- Easy and Healthy weeknight dinner. Only 266 calories.

And it should look something like this. Roman Chicken Recipe- Easy and Healthy weeknight dinner. Only 266 calories.

Then throw in the tomatoes, wine and herbs and try not to salivate over the smell. Trust me, it’s difficult. Roman Chicken Recipe- Easy and Healthy weeknight dinner. Only 266 calories.

Submerge the chicken back in, add the stock, and bring to a simmer for about 20 minutes. Mine was actually finished around 15 minutes because I think I browned the chicken in the beginning a little longer then I was supposed to. All in all, it cooked through and was still very juicy and tender.Roman Chicken Recipe- Easy and Healthy weeknight dinner. Only 266 calories.

Throw the capers in right at the end and then serve it up with a sprinkle of parsley.Roman Chicken Recipe- Easy and Healthy weeknight dinner. Only 266 calories. Roman Chicken Recipe- Easy and Healthy weeknight dinner. Only 266 calories. Roman Chicken Recipe- Easy and Healthy weeknight dinner. Only 266 calories.

I ended up making some cous cous to go along with it and the flavors matched perfectly. Make sure to spoon lots of that sauce on top. I loved how satisfying this dish was but it still felt very light. No heavy sauces or thick cheeses here. Just pure deliciousness without the guilt. Without the cous cous, one serving is about 266 calories. Seriously! This meal was so yummy too!

I don’t eat chicken all that often (I’m weird like that) but this one made the cut of chicken I liked. I’m definitely putting this one in the recipe book.

Update: I’m linking up over on Young House Love, Bower Power, The Remodeled Life, and Decor and the Dog today for their Pinterest Challenge.

