Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’m the kind of person that has a place for everything and everything in it’s place. Funny that God would give me a husband who couldn’t be any more polar opposite. Yin and yang I guess. I am however, very frugal and don’t like to spend much money on my organizing systems. You can tell by how very little I have spent on organizing my showernecklaces, and belts. So when it came to shoe storage I new I needed to get thrifty and figure out a large storage solution that wasn’t going to cost an arm and a leg.

I used to organize my shoes in a hanging closet organizer from Ikea like this one, but once I started throwing all of my shoes in those compartments, not only did they get a little disorganized within each section, they were extremely heavy for such a lightweight organizer. It started to rip and bend under all the weight. That didn’t stop me from using it for a few years, but once we moved into our new place I new I wanted to try something different.

We are blessed to have an extra bedroom in this house that we didn’t in our last apartment, which gives me more floor space for storage. When we moved in, there were two old bookcases left behind and I knew they would be perfect for storing my shoes. Use old book shelves for storing shoes. Paint them the same color for uniformity. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

I painted both of the bookshelves with a coat of dark grey paint that we used for the accent wall in our bedroom. This gave them a uniform look and helped them blend in with the rest of the room. Use old book shelves for storing shoes. Paint them the same color for uniformity. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

I used the bookcase that has the deepest shelves to store my flats. I organized them by color and kept shoes stacked on top of each other, versus side-by-side, to minimize the amount of space I used for each pair. Use old book shelves for storing shoes. Paint them the same color for uniformity. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

I used some old clear small storage boxes for all of my sandals/flip flops. I feel like sandals tend to get the messiest the quickest so keeping them in a few boxes prevents losing the matches or having them all over the shelves. Plus sandals hardly take up any space so putting a few in each box makes more sense then giving each pair a place on the shelf. Use old book shelves for storing shoes. Paint them the same color for uniformity. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

You can tell that my second bookcase was much more narrow than the first, so it worked perfectly for my heels and wedges which aren’t as long as my flats.

Use old book shelves for storing shoes. Paint them the same color for uniformity. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

Again, I organized them somewhat by color and style. There’s no magic way to arrange shoes, just do something that makes sense to you. Use old book shelves for storing shoes. Paint them the same color for uniformity. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

I put the tallest shoes on the top part of the bookcase to prevent them from being squished. Use old book shelves for storing shoes. Paint them the same color for uniformity. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

I used the rest of the area for all my remaining heels and wedges. Some of them side by side, and some of them stacked one on top of the other. It just depended on the style of shoe and how much room I had on the bookcase. Jeff, being the math brain that he is, figured out that if you face a pair of shoes with one shoe facing forward and one facing back, it actually takes up less space then putting both facing the same direction. I don’t have that pictured here, but if I end up acquiring more shoes and need more space, that will help make more room on the shelves.

So there is my little shoe storage system. I keep my tall boots in the closet and I will share how I organize those on a different day. I actually really like having everything out on display. It’s really pretty to look at, plus it encourages me to wear pairs that normally would be at the bottom of a pile in my closet.

