Tags

, , , ,

Jeff and I have been wanting to get a dog of our own for some time now. We began exploring every avenue, rescues, breeders, etc but just couldn’t find the right fit. Then on Saturday, while I was at dance practice for Easter, Jeff gave me a call and said he found a lead on a puppy, a female Golden Retriever, in our price range, and that the litter just went up for sale the day before and 4 out of 6 were already sold. I told him to go check it out and he brought his sister along as well.

When I got home from practice they still weren’t home and then I got a phone call from Jeff saying, it just didn’t feel right to get a puppy so he didn’t. So I went on with my business and didn’t think twice about him bringing a pup home. Then I see him pull up with a puppy in his arms! I ran out of the house and jumped over the bushes as fast as I could to go see our new girl. I asked him why he said he didn’t get a puppy and he said.. because we didn’t get “a” puppy, we got two! I looked down at his feet and there was pup number 2!

Turns out Jeff’s sister wanted one too so we adopted one and her family adopted the other from the same litter and since right now we all live together we get to raise the pups together.

Meet our baby girl “Sprite” and their pup “Shea”. We Got A Puppy! clementinebean.wordpress.comWe Got A Puppy! clementinebean.wordpress.comWe Got A Puppy! clementinebean.wordpress.comWe Got A Puppy! clementinebean.wordpress.com

They obviously look really similar but we are already able to tell them apart. Here are more of Sprite. We Got A Puppy! clementinebean.wordpress.comWe Got A Puppy! clementinebean.wordpress.comWe Got A Puppy! clementinebean.wordpress.comWe Got A Puppy! clementinebean.wordpress.comJeff’s family has always had golden retrievers so between his parents, sister and us, these are pups number 6 and 7 throughout the years. Right now, his parents have a golden named “Sadie” and Jeff’s sister already has a golden named “Scout”. As you can see the “S” names are also a tradition in the family.

As for why we chose “Sprite” for our pups name. When Jeff first met her he brought a long a can of sprite and set it on the ground while he pet our girl. She knocked it over and wouldn’t stop licking it. All on the drive home she kept trying to get after his sprite can. So the name was only fitting. 

These girls are absolute balls of energy so it is fun to have two because they play with each other a lot. They also have their moments of absolute sweetness as well. Right now we are loving our new girls!

