Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday afternoon as Jeff and I pulled onto our street we saw something in the road. At first we thought it was just road kill but as we got closer we realized it was a hawk that had just caught a pigeon. While there are hawks in the area it is not something we get to see very often, and especially not right in my front yard. So I ran inside and grabbed my camera and took a couple pictures and video.Watching a hawk in my neighborhood with its prey. Watching a hawk in my neighborhood with its prey.

When I went back outside it had flown up to the light post. I noticed the other  birds were going crazy making lots of noises. Then I saw that they were not liking the presences of the hawk and kept swooping right by it trying to get it to leave. Watching a hawk in my neighborhood with its prey.

Here is a video I captured of a crow and another little bird trying to get the hawk to leave.

Watching a hawk in my neighborhood with its prey.

Then it finally went back over to its prey. It picked it up and moved it a couple times, but I got a couple shots of it with its kill. Watching a hawk in my neighborhood with its prey. Watching a hawk in my neighborhood with its prey. Watching a hawk in my neighborhood with its prey. Watching a hawk in my neighborhood with its prey.

I think I watched it for about an hour. I wasn’t the only one. It seemed almost every neighbor was out watching it as well. Pretty cool to see something like that right in your own neighborhood.

