Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Deconstructed Veggie Burger Salad Recipe. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

Working on a college campus, there are many different places to grab lunch right outside my office. The challenge is finding something that tastes good but that is healthy at the same time. I would sometimes order a veggie burger from the burger place on campus and then one day I saw someone else order their burger wrapped in lettuce instead of a bun. I thought that would be good to get a veggie burger the same way but it was absolutely falling apart when I tried to pick it up to eat it. I ended up just cutting everything into smaller pieces and ate it with a fork.

Then a light bulb went off. I could make this into a salad, from home, and save money on it. So I ventured to Costco to pick up some of their pre-made veggie burger patties (they come in the refrigerated aisle) and whipped up a Deconstructed Veggie Burger Salad at home. Here’s how I made it.Deconstructed Veggie Burger Salad Recipe. Clementinebean.wordpress.comDeconstructed Veggie Burger Salad Recipe. Clementinebean.wordpress.comDeconstructed Veggie Burger Salad Recipe. Clementinebean.wordpress.comDeconstructed Veggie Burger Salad Recipe. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

Heat up the patty before putting it on the salad.Deconstructed Veggie Burger Salad Recipe. Clementinebean.wordpress.comDeconstructed Veggie Burger Salad Recipe. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

I eat hot sauce on my burger, so why not throw a little Tapatio on the salad right?Deconstructed Veggie Burger Salad Recipe. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

 

You could use any dressing you like but I think a Honey Mustard or Thousand Island would lend to the “burger” themed salad. I only had some homemade Italian dressing at home so I mixed a little Dijon mustard into it and created a mustard vinaigrette and it worked really well.

Deconstructed Veggie Burger Salad Recipe
2 cups of lettuce
2-4 slices of red onion
1 Roma tomato cut into pieces
1 veggie burger patties, heated, cut into pieces
5 dashes of hot sauce
Salad dressing (Thousand Island, Honey Mustard, or Italian would all be good)

Mix all the ingredients together. Enjoy!

