Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I have always had the most sensitive ears, but despite that, I love wearing fashion earnings that you can pick up for cheap at stores like Target, Forever 21 etc. Because I don’t have the budget to buy real gold or silver earrings, I have tried many different ways to help my ears wear cheap fashion earrings longer.Neosporin on your ears and earring posts before wearing earrings helps with sensitive ears. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

If I don’t do anything to my ears, I can only last about 1-4 hours with earrings in before my ears are screaming in pain and red. I used to only wear earrings on special occasions, fight through the pain for a couple hours, and when I would get home I’d take the earrings off and smother my ears in Neosporin. The Neosporin would not only calm any pain, but it would also heal any infection that might have otherwise happened.  makeup & earrings 175 (2)

Then I started thinking, what if I put the Neosporin on BEFORE I wear the earrings. So I gave it a try and was blown away how much of a difference it made. I am able to wear earrings now for almost the whole day (around 12 hours) without feeling any discomfort at all.  Neosporin on your ears and earring posts before wearing earrings helps with sensitive ears. Clementinebean.wordpress.comNeosporin on your ears and earring posts before wearing earrings helps with sensitive ears. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

I take just the smallest amount of Neosporin and rub it all over the pierced area of my ear making sure to get it inside the piercing hole as well as anywhere the earring will touch my skin (front and back). Neosporin on your ears and earring posts before wearing earrings helps with sensitive ears. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

Then I take whatever product is remaining on my finger and rub it all over the post of the earring.

Neosporin on your ears and earring posts before wearing earrings helps with sensitive ears. Clementinebean.wordpress.com

 

Voila! My little found-by-accident-but-really-works home remedy for extending the time I can wear fashion earrings even with my sensitive ears.

Side note: Want to know how I found out I was allergic to nickel earrings? When I was a young girl I had this pair of red lady bug shaped earrings (oh you know I was a cool kid). The first time I wore them, within seconds of putting them in my ears, I passed out. Full on, lights out, laying on the floor, incoherent passing out. Thinking I just had low blood sugar or something else caused me to pass out, I disregarded that it could be the earrings.

Then a few weeks later it was election day at my elementary school and I was running for vice president. I wanted to wear red, white, and blue, so I grabbed those little red lady bug earrings and put them in. BOOM! Light outs again. I never even made it to school to vote for myself. Remembering the same thing happened the last time I put them in, I realized it was the earrings. My dad took them to work to test them to see what they were made of, and low and behold they were made of nickle. From then on I have avoided nickle like the plague. Even with the Neosporin trick, I make sure all my earrings are nickle free. Not even Neosporin could help me with that!

P.S. I won that elementary school election. Yeah!